Zevgolis Tower is built on a rock located close to the center of the village of Apiranthos on its main road. This impressive 17th century tower initially belonged to Kastri family and their coat of arms depicting a lion is on the lintol of the main entrance. The structure is a two-storey Venetian-era stone edifice that has been renovated and is now inhabited, mainly during the summer season. Visitors are permitted to access the verandas as well as the interior when the owners are present.
The ancestors of the present owners acquired it immediately following the Greek Revolution in 1821. As was also the case with the Barozzi Tower in Filoti, this tower served as a residence for feudal lords of the period. Later, it became property of Somarippa family, according to the inscription of 1677 found in the building. After the revolution of 1821, it passed to Zevgolis family. The tower is a unique architectural example of a fortress and it stands out thanks to its dimensions.
The tower features Aegean-style arches and many verandas and balconies which are well worth going up to for the view.
Parking space is available by the village entrance. Public transport runs from Chora, Naxos’s main town. Shuttles are more frequent during the summer months.